PDA

View Full Version : I'm just so glad it's finally over!!! Long!

ivparker
05-01-2004, 06:35 AM
Ok, I never thought I would have to write a post here but I can't sleep because I am so frustrated. First with the good news. I am finally done. I am a teacher and left for an early maternity leave this Friday. I also will not be returning because I am going to be a SAHM! I am so excited. Ok, the bad news. Well, this is the story. About 2 months ago I did one of those Scholastic book orders for my class. I had three students return the order and they just threw them on my table without any name on them and cash not in envelopes. I think one did it first and the other two just followed. I asked whose order belonged to who and no one really would claim their order, well two thought the same order was each of there's since they ordered the same books except for a few different ones. I told them to go home and ask their parents. Never happended. Ok, background I teach 5th grade in a very inner city school. Ok, so how can they not know which one belonged to them?!! Well, anyway, I placed the order which by the way was over $10 short but because no one had any envelopes and I didn't know who it belonged to persay, had a sort of an idea, I knew the three students that ordered but not which one belonged to who, I just used my own money to pay. The order finally came in and I was able to sort out who had each book except for 2 books that were unclaimed. Two students said that they were definately not there's so the third said she couldn't remember but maybe they were her's, so I just let her take them. 6 weeks later, a mother calls complaining that her son was missing two of the books from that scholastic order. Those two books were the two that I gave the other girl, so I asked the other girl to bring them in and she did. Well, the mother saw the books and said they looked used and she wanted new ones. Now, I tell you, those books look brand stankin' new. I showed it to other