PDA

View Full Version : My dentist is ripping me off.......

jerseygirl07067
06-14-2004, 11:04 PM
Or at least I think he is. I switched to him recently since I moved to a different part of town. He heavily advertises that he does a lot of cosmetic dentistry, in addition to general dentistry.

I have always gone to the dentist every six months and have never had any cavities. Now all of the sudden I go to this guy, he says I have four cavities and he tells me that I should get all of my old mercury fillings removed, and switched to porcelain, to the tune of almost a thousand dollars. He says not to worry, insurance might pay for a good amount of it. Then my DH goes, and they say he needs a root canal, has four cavities, and then needs to get his fillings switched out too. WTF?

Well that's not even the point!!! I work in healthcare, and I am so over healthcare providers taking advantage of the insurance companies. IMO that is part of the cause of the current healthcare crisis in our country today, but that is a whole additional topic.

Please enlighten me if you know anything about this filling thing. Is this really necessary? I have 10 old fillings from when I was a kid and my DH has about the same. (At least the dentist had the decency to tell me that he wants me to be done nursing first because of the potential mercury exposure). I would do it if it was really going to benefit me in the long run, i.e. like I could keep my teeth for life and not wind up with a mouth full of dentures like so many people.

I am not sure if this topic will generate much interest but I figured I'd give it a try. :)

Marcy

Momof3Labs
06-14-2004, 11:19 PM