PDA

View Full Version : Why Are Part-Timers Treated So Badly??

AvasMama
07-06-2004, 01:22 PM
I am a mid-level manager at a big publishing company. After I had Ava, I knew I could not go back full-time, so I requested to switch to part-time. After two months of back-and-forth, my request has finally been granted, but the situation couldn't be more frustrating!

I will be basically doing the same job, with the same level of responsibility, though I will no longer manage my staff. However, I am getting a significant demotion title-wise, getting kicked out of my office, and now will work side-by-side with the staff I was managing.

I know I have to give up some things in order to go part-time, but 10 years of hard work? This is a title I had in my very first job out of college!! Given that I have over 10 years of experience, having the same title as my employees have is demoralizing.

I know two other moms who were also demoted when they went part-time. My company always wins awards for being so family-friendly... so why are moms who want to work part-time treated like crap??

Robyn & Ava

cinrein
07-06-2004, 01:44 PM
That stinks! I work part-time too, but for the Fed. Gov. so I had no change in pay (other than working less hours), title or position. The thing I found frustrating is the attitude of the other workers. I get comments like, "So nice of you to join us today." from some coworkers. Pisses me off to no end! x(

Cindy and Anna February 2003

sntm
07-06-2004, 01:49 PM
That's awful! How did they justify all of that?!?!

My OB went parttime after she had her baby. We were sharing stories and she told me that all her patients complained to her and made jokes about all the "free time" she has, not realizing that parttime for her is still about 40 hours a week!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
shannon
not-even-pregnant-yet-overachiever
trying-to-conceive :)
PREGNANT! EDD 6/9/03
mama to Jack 6/6/03

hez
07-06-2004, 01:52 PM
How crappy!