PDA

View Full Version : Aaarrrgh! Poo EVERYWHERE!

Sillygirl
11-30-2004, 01:25 PM
I'm four weeks into motherhood with my darling baby boy. I've learned to watch closely during diaper changes and have become a pro at blocking the spray. I've gotten used to the explosive farts during breastfeeding and his father calling him "rocket butt". But now he has a touch of diaper rash and the books tell me to expose his butt to air, which with this child is like playing Russian roulette. Still, anything for my little angel, so I strip off his diaper and stand guard at the changing table. He is quiet for a minute, then has a little fart - impending trouble. Oh, but I'm a mommy pro by now, so I think I'm slick. I fold up the dirty diaper and tuck it, clean side up, under him to catch any little accident. How efficient! How thrifty!

Five seconds later, WHOOSH! A jet of poo comes out, I kid you not, THREE FEET! It spatters the changing table. It splashes the front of my pants. It bounces off my pants and hits the carpet, the beige carpet that, in a moment of prenatal insanity, I ordered and paid $600 for. Meanwhile, the fountain has gotten in on the game and Jonathan is merrily watering the diaper wipes box.

So there I am, with a drenched child on the table in front of me. If I take a step, more poo will fall off my pants onto the carpet, plus I might step in what's already there. The diaper wipes are covered in pee. That nuclear yellow stain is seeping into my carpet as I try to decide what to do. And darling son hasn't looked so serene in days as he lies there, quite content, contemplating this chaos. Meanwhile the phone is ringing - Daddy is coming home for lunch and hopes there will be soup and sandwiches.

Well, we're all clean now. Any suggestions for stain removal? I also need to know a good treatment for cracked ribs, which his father sustained by laughing so hard at this.

bluej
11-30-2004, 01:38 PM