PDA

View Full Version : Absent parents

katydid1971
03-30-2007, 10:09 PM
This is my first time coming to this board so if this is bitched about a lot I'm sorry. Today I took my 22 month old son to the play ground at the mall ment for "Under 3". He really likes it and I like that everything is well padded and pretty much clean. (Believe me I still Purell him down 15 times while we're there.) My bitch is the other parents. First there are several children there that aren't "Under 3" (I've heard them talking about their grade school activities.) They climb the equipement incorrectly and jump around not paying any attention to what they are doing. I don't know how many times these kids have almost kicked my little guy. Then most of the moms there are busy talking on their cell phones or to their friends or just staring off into space and not paying any attention to what their kids are doing. A little boy today kept throwing an action figure at the toddlers. I asked him nicely not to do that, told him not to do that. Finally I took it away and gave it to his mother who was completely clueless about what was happening. I use to be a teacher and have practice watching several children all at one. But this isn't school, I shouldn't be correcting their children's behavior. I corrected my son's when he tried to push another child out of his way, why can't they do that too? My son loves playing here on rainy days and it gets us out of the house but I am starting to fear for his safety with these other kids around.
Sarah

miki
03-31-2007, 03:49 AM