PDA

View Full Version : gifts for daycare providers

Hallie_D
10-29-2002, 02:15 PM
For those of you who have babies in day care, any thoughts on holiday gifts for the teachers? Are you giving a gift yourself or chipping in with other parents? Are you giving each teacher a gift or bringing in something for everyone to share (like cookies)? My ds is in Kindercare and has four main teachers but other staff often help out. I'd like to give each of the main teachers something nice. So far I've thought of mugs, candles, and picture frames, but I don't want to give the same thing as everybody else!

Your ideas will be much appreciated!!!

Thanks!

Karenn
10-29-2002, 03:18 PM
I'm a former teacher, and one of the favorite gifts on our faculty was gift certificates. Even a little $5 coupon booklet from Starbucks was a treat. Other favorites were gift cards to:
*Barnes and Noble
*Borders
*Area Restaurants

Also, some parents would make a plate of cookies, bagels or other treats and leave them in the faculty room with a note saying something like "Thanks, from the Smith Family"

Karen

Momof3Labs
10-29-2002, 04:15 PM
My SIL also used to work in day care, and believe it or not, she enjoyed receiving the handmade gifts from her kids. Even just a handprint on a piece of paper, with the child's name and the child's scribbles. She's had to move around a lot (my brother is military) and appreciates these little reminders of the kids! Maybe combine that with a small gift certificate - that may be appreciated more than "another" mug, candle or picture frame (yes, she got a lot of these, and uses very few of them).

Sending a plate of goodies for everyone to share is also a good idea!

A lot of parents did nothing, so I think it's great that you are acknowledging the teachers' efforts!

Lori
mommy to Colin Daniel 9/28/02

Hallie_D
10-29-2002, 04:34 PM