PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know anything about Pilates?

kathsmom
12-01-2002, 05:30 PM
I need to lose about 15 post-partum pounds and have seen this exercise method mentioned in magazines and on TV. I can't get to a studio to do these exercises, because they are too far from my home. Can I use a videotape and have success? I have seen the Pilates machine on QVC and Denise Austin has a Pilates video (on babycenter.com I think). I really need to lose this weight and get in shape, per my doctor's advice. Any information would be appreciated!

Toni - mom to Katherine (5/19/96) and Andrew (9/23/02)

nohomama
12-01-2002, 06:19 PM
I've been doing Pilates on and off for 15 years. I started when I was a dancer as a way of building strength and then got serious about it again 3 years ago when I moved to an area with several Pilates studios (one of which I now run my massage practice out of).

While you could incorporate Pilates into a weight loss "regime," I think you'd be disappointed with your results if Pilates was your sole form of exercise. To loose weight you need to burn calories, and to do that you need to increase your heart rate with aerobic exercise. While Pilates can get your heart beating, in much the same way yoga does, it's hardly a form of aerobic exercise.

I can't comment on either the QVC Reformer or the Denise Austin video, but I can recommend the book "The Pilates Body" by Brooke Siler. It's a VERY good book with step-by-step photographs and detailed instructions. Exercises range from beginner to advanced and require no special equipment (a yoga or exercise mat is helpful but not necessary). Siler also explains how to modify exercises and avoid injury for those with chronic back or joint problems, in addition to offering advice about proper technique/form.

HTH,

JMarie
12-01-2002, 06:31 PM