PDA

View Full Version : Help! Friends want to visit me in hospital

dogmom
01-02-2003, 10:42 AM
I'm just shy of 39 weeks now with my first chld and I've run into a problem with two female friends of my husband and I who keep telling me they want to visit me in the hospital after I have the baby. One of them is in her mid 20's and never had a baby. The another is going through empty nest syndrome with her 19 year old off to college, so I think there is some other stuff going on making them less than realistic.

I'm a nurse and delivering at my own hospital about an hour away from my house. I feel very comfortable there, trust the staff, completely and know they will take care of me as one of my own. So it's sort of like giving birth in my home. I've been telling my friends since about week 20 that I really don't won't visitors since I only have 48 hours in the hospital and I could be very exhausted, and would like them to wait until I get home. The only person I really want to visit is my mother-in-law, I mean she's the grandma.

They keep telling me, "You don't have to entertain us," but I'm a nurse. I see patients before, during, after friends visit. You might not be juggling balls in the air for your friends amusement, but it does take something out of you. I just feel like I have such a short period of time with my baby, husband and me to have this quite time to welcome the baby to our family before we get home. My husband can only take a week off work (company <10 employees so FML doesn't apply).

Now both my friends have gone to the "we'll just stop by to see the baby in the nursery," statement. Of course the ward is locked and you can't get in without being buzzed in! They seemed puzzled by that. I think they are expecting something from the movies, you know, a baby aquarium.