PDA

View Full Version : QUality time with an Infant

bnme
01-20-2003, 11:15 AM
As a newbie, I am wondering how all of the Moms out there entertain/bond with there infants throughout the day. There are so few "awake" hours at this age I feel confused as to what to do with my babe. I want to make sure I am getting the best possible quality time and feel guilty if I set him down for too long while he is awake (but even though he sleeps a lot I havent mastered getting things done while he is asleep, I may need to do something while he is awake....shower for example!)

He seems to like just being held and rocked and talked to and read to. And he also likes being in his crib if there is music or a mobile on (we have Tiny Love Symphony and FP Crib Aquarium).

What do you do with your tots while they are awake? When, if ever, do you do "household" stuff? I am worrying about that too soon? I am already counting how many more weeks till I go back to work and dreading it!! I feel like I have so much to accomplish before than and don't want to waste my precious time.

Help!!!

Rachels
01-20-2003, 12:08 PM
I swear I spent six weeks rocking and nursing and not much else. Housework was out of the question. The tiny baby stage will pass SO quickly! Just snuggle and enjoy it. He'll love to hear your voice, to look at your face, to study contrasting patterns, etc, all of which can be done from your cozy spot on the couch. He'll let you know when he's ready to be put down.

-Rachel
Mom to Abigail Rose
5/18/02

spu
01-20-2003, 02:33 PM
yes, like Rachel said, the newborn stage goes by so fast. I'm still at home with my babes (6 mos today!) and I already miss the little peanut age. We didn't watch too much tv, and just now got the baby einstein videos, so most of the stuff we did was with household things. Here's some of the things we did.