PDA

View Full Version : Baby Signing

Andrea S
02-10-2003, 03:59 PM
Has anyone taught there baby to sign? Is there a book that you would recomend?

Andrea
mom to Andrew 8/14/02

Rachels
02-10-2003, 04:28 PM
I have a friend who is doing it, and it's great. I'm starting to show Abigail a few signs, too. There's a book that's called *Baby Signs* (I think-- or something pretty close). Basically, the idea is to use the simplest signs-- things like milk, more, all done, sleep, etc, and to use them over and over and over. My friend's baby is now 18 months, and learns new signs immediately. If there's a word he can't manage yet, he uses the sign until he figures it out.

-Rachel
Mom to Abigail Rose
5/18/02

egoldber
02-10-2003, 05:22 PM
I have been doing signing with Sarah since she was about 7 months old. Actually several of the moms in my playgroup do it. One of the moms had a minor is American Sign Language (ASL) in college and signs really well. Another mom had an old friend who now teaches baby signing classes as her business. Several of us took classes with her.

It is both rewarding and frustrating. Sarah picked up a few signs right away: milk, light, fan, and dog (go figure as to why these signs). And that was it until recently, even though I was pretty diligent about it. But in the last month she has picked up several new signs all at once. Strange. It seems like babies pick up signs they like and not necessarily the ones you would think they would!

But it has been a really fun activity. The "Baby Signs" book people use their own signs that they made up. There is another very popular book, "Sign with Your Baby" by Joesph Garcia (http://www.sign2me.com/default6.htm) that is also popular. He uses actual ASL signs (or slight modifications for complex signs).