PDA

View Full Version : Mommy (or Daddy) groups???

SASM
03-03-2003, 03:51 PM
How did you find your mommy group? I would love any suggestions. :-) I am new to my area and do not have a good grasp on it yet - not knowing the ins and outs. Not knowing many people in this area who have babies, I am desperate to get out and meet some people who share my situation. My OB office was not very helpful and I am stilla little scared of the LLL. Help!!

Thank you! :-)

Sharyn
Mommy to Ian Riley

MartiesMom2B
03-03-2003, 06:33 PM
Sharyn:

I asked this very same questions on Flaggers SAH boards. Suggestions made to me were to look up the following gropus on the internet:

Mom's club: www.momsclub.org
MOPS: www.gospelcom.net/mops

Also to check mom's groups such as Parents of Preschoolers at church or synogogue (sp?). People have also said that they've found their groups through library story times.

Good luck and let me know how the search goes!

Sonia
EDD 4/14/03

flagger
03-03-2003, 06:40 PM
Does your development have a newsletter or website? I found the one we live in has playgroups by age right in my own neighborhood. Nice to know there are other SAHP's so close.

egoldber
03-03-2003, 07:25 PM
I found mine through the hospital I delivered at. They had a "New Mom" support group that met weekly, and my playgroup spun off of that. I cannot tell you enough what a lifesaver that group has been for me. Definitely check it out!

HTH,

August Mom
03-03-2003, 08:40 PM
My mommy group is made of mommies who were in my childbirth class. We had a childbirth class reunion with mommies, daddies and babies when the youngest baby was around 8 weeks. Then, a few of us took an infant massage class together and then kept meeting weekly in a mommy group.

I would think that going to a Gymboree or other such class (or perhaps even a water babies class when Ian is older) would also be good ways to meet other moms.

Rachels
03-03-2003, 08:50 PM