PDA

View Full Version : AVATAR IMAGES NOT SHOWING??? RED "X" IN BOX

mama2be
04-09-2003, 05:26 AM
Lately I am noticing several posts where there is no picture where the avatar images are, vs just nothing there meaning they don't have one. I am noticing a square with a red "x" in there. Should we be notifying eachother if we see that, is it something that the poster needs to be made aware of maybe a glitch. I am noticing it more and more and want to make certain folks are aware if their pics are not showing up...
Anyone know about it...it might be on my end, but I see most...
I'm not technical so didn't know...

flagger
04-09-2003, 06:26 AM
Because they are hosted off-site, sometimes there can be net traffic that can cause them not to display. If you do not have a copy of their avatar in your computer's cache, you will see the dreaded red x.

Sometimes the syntax used by the person who sets the URL for their avatar is not entered correctly (You can tell by right clicking on the red x and going down to properties) and sometimes from where one has linked their avatar has disabled hotlinking to save on bandwidth and it will not display here.

It certainly wouldn't hurt to send them an email or post in a message of theirs.

momtoemma
04-09-2003, 08:34 AM
I know that my avatar image isn't working. I've had dh working on this, and we haven't been able to get it to work so far in spite of meeting all the requirements I've seen in various posts. I haven't had problems getting pics to show up on other (non-related) message boards, so I'm not sure what the problem is. I'm going to show this message to DH tonight again, but I am aware that mine isn't working.

Thanks,
Stephanie

mama2be
04-09-2003, 08:52 AM
Flagger I knew you would know!!!

So it sounds like these folks don't don't we can't see them...or atleast that I can't see them, does that mean when they are reviewing their post that they can see them on their end???