PDA

View Full Version : No labor!

jd11365
04-23-2003, 08:19 PM
Last week, the dr. tells me I'm 1.5 cm dilated/70%effaced/-1 station and I could have an Easter baby...definitely a baby by Wed. (today). Of course today came and went...after a whirlwind of cleaning, preparing at work, and loss of sleep with anxiety because the baby was coming all of a sudden. Now, after today's appt. he tells me the "stats" are still the same, but my cervix is really high and it could be even past my due date. This is fine because he also told me he is going out of town from Friday until Monday 5/5. Now I want everything to slow down. I don't want the baby until my dr. is here! I'm not technically due until 5/12 even though my US showed a few days early 5/9ish. Do you think I will make it until he returns???

Thanks!
Jamie

Also, can anyone explain how my cervix can be really high, but the baby's head be really low at -1 station?

KathyO
04-23-2003, 08:42 PM
I believe that station refers to the baby's position relative to the opening in the centre of your pelvic bone... whereas your cervix is at the end of a vagina which slants rather than being a vertical tube. So the cervix could still be relatively "high".

As to whether you'll make it to 5/5 is really up in the air! It's not inconceiveable that you could, but you also very easily couldn't! Try not to sweat it too much (yeah, I know, easy for me to say!) My beloved OB/GYN was in Australia accepting an award (good for her but waaahh!!!) when I finally went into labour one week late. Her stand-in was someone she felt comfortable leaving her patients with, and I found him very easy to get along with. Okay, I wish I'd had her, but he was nice, competent, friendly and really, the labour and delivery nurses were the ones I interacted with the most. Does your doctor have a stand-in appointed, and what does he have to say about him?

HTH,

KathyO

zen_bliss
04-23-2003, 11:03 PM