PDA

View Full Version : Yikes...1st shots tomorrow!

jd11365
07-16-2003, 02:40 PM
I just can't do it...DH is going to have to take the baby. I can't believe they are going to stick her so many times! After researching the whole vaccine issue to death, I've made the decision to go with the regular schedule, but the thought of my little baby being hurt just kills me! Any suggestions to help make it better for her?

Ryansmom
07-16-2003, 02:48 PM
Hi Jamie,

You can give her Tylenol before you leave home. I was a pedi nurse and gave many, many shots. We routinely recommended this to our parents. Just please make sure you know hte proper doseage.

You can also give her a warm bath that night and gently massage her legs. The massage will help the muscle absorb the vaccine. this will also give you a chance (if you haven't already) to remove the bandaids.

Your sweet little one will be just fine. It is far more stressful for you at this stage.

mama2be
07-16-2003, 03:06 PM
Jamie I know it hurts...everyone came together to support us thru it so I have to respond with how it went for us...I went and stepped out for the shots, becasue I did not wantt o miss so many other things that go on in this appt...

Now our DR gives the medicine there we have been instructed not to give it in advance and they space the shots correctly time wise after the "weigh in" and the medicine is givne...so check with your ped. I have to say if T cried for 15 seconds I would be amazed...and he was not fussy at all after...I think thanks to the medicine. The band aids killed me too...

Keep us posted...
We are there for you

Rachels
07-16-2003, 03:24 PM
I know your anguish! The first round is not too terrible. The baby forgets almost instantly. I did find that Abigail was quite fussy and uncomfortable for several days, though. Here's what helped: