PDA

View Full Version : Best time of the year to be pregnant?

mom2huskies
07-29-2003, 05:18 PM
After 8 years of marriage and much planning, we're going to take the plunge and TTC. Here's my first question to the moms and dads of 'The Board':

Assuming I get to do the choosing, which is the best time of year to be pregnant/have a young baby? We just moved north to Iowa, which means real winters again. If I try for early summer, I'll have my mom to help out (she teaches).

Thanks everyone- I've already learned a ton!
Cate
ttc 03?

brubeck
07-29-2003, 05:44 PM
Glad you have this luxury! I teach for a living, and I took one semester off for each baby. I actually timed my kids for the end of the year so that I could have the winter semester AND the summer off to make a nice long maternity leave. I'm actually down to the last 2 weeks of my leave for Andrew. :(

The problem with winter babies is that it's hard to take them out of the house when it's so cold and/or wet. However with summer babies you have problems taking them out because they can't wear sunscreen yet need to be protected from the sun.

From a more long-term perspective, you could consider birthdays and holidays in your family. I'm not sure my son is ever going to be happy with a birthday so close to Christmas, but we plan on celebrating half-birthdays for both kids. When I grew up my entire family had birthdays in May and June, not to mention Mother's and Father's Days, so that was an exhausting period.

Lastly, you may want to pick a goal date based on the cut-off date for kindergarten school entry in your area. It's a real pain if you miss the cut-off by just a few days!

lvp49
07-29-2003, 05:45 PM
My dd was born in late June, and I thought it was great. I was off all summer, not pregnant in terrible heat, and not stuck in the house after the baby was born. My next is due Nov. 3 2003, and I'm a a little anxious about the holidays.