PDA

View Full Version : Baby Gender...to know or not to know....

MKH76
09-13-2003, 02:27 PM
I admit, I usually just lurk here. But now I need help. A little background..I live on an island in the southern area of Alaska (Coast Guard husband) My very passive aggressive In Laws (that will be staying with us for a MONTH after the Bean is born) live in Florida. My son will be 20 mos when I deliver in March. Our town is very small, we have no mall, no place to get great high end baby gear, and most companies do not ship here. Fortunately we kept everything we bought when Josh was born (we were living in Massachusetts, so we were able to get some great high end stuff).
Here is my dilema. DH and I have discussed this pregnancy being our last. It's hard to be a military family with a ton of kids (low income, moving alot, vacations to visit family, etc). I don't want to know the sex of the baby. I know I'll be having a C-section. VBAC is not offered here on the island. I'm a nurse, so I work for the only group of doctors that deliver here. For fun, when we have a visiting physician come in (usually monthly specialty docs fly in), my doctor will show them the new ultrasound machine we have using me as the example. My extended family knows this. And I have told them that Dr. X will not do "crotch shots" because he doesn't want to guess wrong. We only look for growth with measurements and physical abnormalities, it is purely diagnostic; mainly to check dates. Everyone goes to the hospital in town for an ultrasound at 20 weeks and over there they can learn the sex if they want. I'll be 20 weeks around Halloween.