PDA

View Full Version : New Shutterfly/digital photography post

lmintzer
09-27-2003, 11:22 PM
(Sorry--I originally posted this under someone else's Shutterfly post and realized it probably wouldn't get viewed there. So here it is again.)

I finally gave in and got a digital camera (a Minolta Dimage F300, 5 megapixel), and I am definitely feeling like a complete novice at this. Can anyone help me with Shutterfly? Here's the story and some questions.

I managed to upload some pix to Shutterfly using the "checkbox" method (which method is that? the 1 by 1 or using their software)? This was after hooking the camera to the computer via USB port and finding, thankfully, that the pictures were magically "sucked" into a folder on my hard drive.

So, here are my questions:

1. Is anyone using Shutterfly with a Macintosh computer (this is what we're doing, and I wonder if there are any differences between Mac and PC)?
2. Was what I did using the "1 by 1" method or what others are calling "using their software"?
3. Whatever I did took about 1 min./picture. And it looks like you can only click off 10 pix at a time. Is this optimal, or is there something else I can do to speed up the process? We are expecting baby #2 in Dec., and if this isn't easy, I know I won't do it! I'm trying to get up to speed now so that I'll be set for using the camera, uploading the pix, sending albums to friends, and ordering prints.
3. Do those of you who use Shutterfly edit in another program like Adobe or do you just do the simple crop/red-eye reduction in Shutterfly before sending away for prints?
5. On a more general digital photography note, do people who want to e-mail pictures or upload them to a personal website save an additional e-mail or onscreen viewing version that is smaller? My pix have been roughly 1.1 MB each, and that is far too big for hotmail or for my son's website on Tripod.