PDA

View Full Version : Helping those less fortunate this holiday season......

cchavez
10-03-2003, 09:16 AM
I woke up this morning thinking that my family and I are so lucky. DS is very fortunate and I am sure will get more than enough gifts this Christmas. And I got to thinking of my former students. I was a bilingual speech therapist in a preschool setting for 5 years. My students were all lower income but in general they didn't lack for too much in the material sense....granted some of them lived in homes w/ their family and then maybe some other relatives to make ends meet but I did not see much poverty. And I know their parents worked very hard to provide for them but in general they all had food, clothes and toys to play with.

But one student I had a few years ago does stand out in my mind.....her name was Maria. She came to our classroom when she was 3 years old. She had a very significant hearing loss and speech/language and cognition were all very delayed. This little girl was absolutely beautiful but we had so much work to do with her. I remember the first day she literally clawed at me b/c she did not want to be at school but each day we saw progress. WE got her new hearing aids which helped. When she came to us she may have had a vocabulary of 10 words by the end of the semester she had close to 100 and was beginning to sign!!! I loved this little girl and would have seriously considered adopting her. But she did come for a very loving home......