PDA

View Full Version : What are some ways you stretch your grocery dollars?

cabinqueen
10-31-2003, 09:47 AM
I think I'm spending too much on (food) groceries. What are some ways you guys you stretch your grocery money? I've started buying meats and seasonal produce when it's on sale, but I still need some help with other ideas. Please help me get more or go farther with my money! Any advice would be appreciated.

Jen in Chicago
10-31-2003, 09:59 AM
Few things I do, and I am no expert!

Costco for meats (fresh and frozen- and deli) and fish, and milk. We almost always have a big bag of fresh spinach on hand for cooked spinach or spinach salad (spinach, blue cheese, hearts of palm, dried cranberries and raspberry vinegarette (sp)) Our other staples from here: dried cranberries, blue cheese, turkey lunchmeat, sandwich rolls, frozen turkey burgers, and chicken broth.

Shop the flyers (Wednesday newspapers here in Chicago)- I go to the store after reading the flyer. My goal is to have less than a handful of items that are not on sale. Our grocery totals up your savings on the receipt. I love seeing I saved $20 on my bill! I often by what is on sale, rather than a specific brand. I have 2 major chains close to me. I will do all of my shopping at the store with the most items on sale that I need.

Trader Joe's- great prices (often beat the sale prices at the normal stores I have found) and great quality. Due to a lack of cooking time I have bought a number of their prepared frozen items and have not been disappointed.

Coupons- When I have time I'll clip, file and use. I am not good about this.

On occassion- I will go to our local Fruit and Vegetable market since they have the best prices on produce.

I don't send DH to the store unless I have too. He will spend more than I and is not as thrifty as I can be.

LucyG
10-31-2003, 10:02 AM