PDA

View Full Version : HELP!!!! First Resume in Years.....

liya
11-16-2003, 01:06 PM
As you all know 2 years ago i graduated from college and im working through law school(took a pause on that till Ari was 1 yr old). My husband just got laid off again(he always seems to pick the companies that are near bankrupcy) so i need go work. We need the extra money in this house BAD!!... Since i decided to go to law school full time i never made a resume after i graduated nor did i ever attend what you might call a "formal interview"...LOL i was in colllege i took collegy jobs..The interviews were never intimidating.

I have a major in Marketing and 2 minors in Finance and Accounting. So right now im looking through the want ads for positions i would qualify for...I am actually a tad scared as they would be my first BIG INTERVIEWS and im FREAKED....I have no clue what to write in my resume since i have NONE of the formal backround experience they require(employment wise), but i also dont want to seem like a lazy geek who never worked because thats not true...Im looking for fancy names and descriptions to actually elaborate on my duties and my position editing out the ones that really WONT make me look good and also writting a cover letter. But YIKES this is tough....

What should i do....?? I mean i know how to prepare for the interviews (backround checks of the company, prepare for questions, prepare to ask questions that leave the interviewer with a possitive opinion about you, staying calm, being yourself...etc etc) but how do i present a good resume that would be considered for an interview when you have just "recently" graduated??

Momof3Labs
11-16-2003, 01:21 PM
Have you contacted your college's job placement office? They will often work with recent grads!

egoldber
11-16-2003, 01:59 PM
Lori's advice to talk to the placement office is great. They should be able to help you out.