PDA

View Full Version : Paid holidays for caregiver - typical?

missym
11-17-2003, 04:14 PM
We haven't signed a contract with our caregiver yet because her computer has been down, so I was unaware until today that we have to pay her for holidays even though she doesn't provide services on those days. Is this typical? I wouldn't mind except I work part-time, so I don't get paid for holidays. Also, she's taking the day after Christmas for a holiday, so I'll have to pay a back-up sitter and still pay her.

Also, is it pretty typical to have to pay for days when you keep the child home sick? This makes more sense to me than holidays.

Thanks for any input!

Missy, mom to Gwen 03/03

LucyG
11-17-2003, 08:58 PM
Our sitter (in-home daycare) gives us ten days a year to take off for free. I am a teacher working part-time, so we will probably use one free week at Christmas, and another for my spring break. We have to pay for major holidays (Thanksgiving, Christmas, etc.), but not at all during the summer (when DD will be at home with me). We also have to pay on days when DD is sick or does not go to the sitter for some other reason. We have the option of using some of our ten free days in those cases, but have decided to take them in blocks as I mentioned previously. I hope that helps!

parkersmama
11-17-2003, 09:50 PM
When we were using an in-home daycare, our situation was pretty similar to the one described by LucyG. We were also given 10 (I think) days for vacation but were requested to use them in blocks of 5 rather than spread out (for planning purposes, she said). We did pay for all holidays but the daycare was open on many of the minor ones (Veteran's Day, President's Day, etc). We did pay when the baby was sick as well.