PDA

View Full Version : Experienced moms: what books could you not have done without???

aliceinwonderland
12-10-2003, 04:35 PM
Hi: here I am asking for advice again... i'll be glad when I actually have something useful to share, LOL

Anyway, can I get some suggestions for books to get and read before baby gets here? So far I have "Dr. Mom's guide to breastfeeding"; and "happiest bay on the block".

I'd love to get any books not about just babies alone, but about childhood development in general.
Any words of wisdom welcome as always!!Thanks so much!

eri and bean due next Spring :)

pritchettzoo
12-10-2003, 04:38 PM
I'm not experienced yet, but I am reading Burton White's The First Three Years of Life and really like it so far. It does a great job of explaining development. I'm trying to stay a stage ahead of DD... http://www.overstock.com/cgi-bin/d2.cgi?PAGE=PROFRAME&PROD_ID=196651

Of course, it was recommended by most everyone here!

Anna
Mama to Gracie (9/16/03)

mamahill
12-10-2003, 04:43 PM
Before Baby Bargains? LOL. I have "The Complete Book of Breastfeeding," which I thought was very good. I also really liked Weissbluth's "Happy Baby, Healthy Sleep Habits." I kept 'What to Expect the First Year' around just because it was interesting to flip through. I didn't put a lot of weight in the "What your baby SHOULD be doing..." But it was interesting.

The only advice I can give is that I wish I had read them BEFORE the baby arrived. After, time is limited and should be spent sleeping! Of course, reading about breastfeeding was always a guaranteed way of getting my milk to let down;).

kapow
12-10-2003, 04:46 PM
I found "The Nursing Mother's Companion" by Kathleen Huggins to be invaluable, and there are alot of nursing books out there. I also recommend "Happiest Baby" and the Burton White book.