PDA

View Full Version : SAHMs when ( and if) do you plan to return to work

cchavez
01-15-2004, 12:18 PM
I have been thinking about this alot lately.....Our plan is that I will stay at home w/ Diego (and hopefully #2) until they start kindergarten. But I really would love to be at home when they arrive from school but I do think that I want to go back to my career... I am a speech language pathologist and I really enjoy this profession. So if we can swing it, I hope to only go back part time for awhile. But DH says we will really need the extra income when they get older so that we can pay for their college. What about you guys....what is your plan?

mik8
01-15-2004, 12:26 PM
I work in the medical field and it was a tough choice to decide between being a full-time and part-time mom. I really enjoy being with patients - love interacting at the bedside. There are so many tiers/hours for part-timers that you have the ability to still control your time and be able to stay with your kids. The "primordial" factor that made me decide to work part-time (on call) is the high pace technology in the field of health care nowadays. I don't know in your field but in mine and as well as in any other health care profession, I know that I will become a liability if I stopped working because I would get behind with the ever-changing technology/skills. I want to keep my skills, be able to have some control of my time and be a mom (part-time benefits), and have some extra money for baby's extra expense. HTH. Whatever you decide, I'm sure it's for the best. Best of luck!

mamahill
01-15-2004, 12:29 PM