PDA

View Full Version : "In lieu of flowers"...what do you do?

deborah_r
01-23-2004, 01:03 PM
My friend's father died earlier this month. They are having a memorial service tomorrow, which I cannot attend as it is 3000 miles away. I have known her and her family for 22 years, although I have not seen much of them over the last 10 years, as I have not lived near them.

I have sent a card, and the obituary says "in lieu of flowers donations can be made to..." If that is the case, is that what you do, or do you still send flowers if you want to? What is the most appropriate thing to do? If one wanted to send flowers where do you send them?

I'm not good at this as (thankfully) I have not had much experience with funerals.

NEVE and TRISTAN
01-23-2004, 01:25 PM
I'm not good at this either...so don't take my word over anyone elses on this front...

BUT if it say "In lieu of flowers"...I would assume they think just like I do and would hate for someone to spend money on flowers when there is so much that their money could be spent on. So if they said "donations to ______" AND IF YOU HAVE THE MONEY AND SEEK TO DO SOMETHING FINANCIALLY then I would do what they requested.

I would cry my eyes out from above if I was buried with thousands of dollars worth of flowers sitting on top of my urn personally...there is so much that money can do...I would be a lot happier knowing that things are done on this earth with that money while I watch from above.

When we lost this last baby a few gals here donated a nice amount to "my" local SPCA and NOTHING could have touched me more or meant more to me than that...NOTHING!!!!
Neve
AKA "mama2be"-forgot password
and Baby Boy Tristan born @UNC
Feb 25, 2003
Brother to 3 pups "gees" and 2 kitties

amp
01-23-2004, 01:28 PM