PDA

View Full Version : Decisions, Decisions...What would you do???

McQ
01-28-2004, 11:07 AM
Well I have a bit of a decision to make here. At first I thought it would be a no-brainer but now, well...

We just won this big project at work that I was a part of. So now I have to decide if I stay on my current assignment or go to the new assignment. The current assignment is better for my family/state of mind. The new assignment is better for my career/mental stimulation. So I choose to stay right?!? as family comes first. But the thing is I just hate what I'm working on now. It just doesn't excite me in the least. I dread working on things. It's a struggle every day to be creative and act enthused on some thing that just bores me to tears. But the new assignment is what my background is in, it's challenging and some thing that I would love to do. Argh! What would you do?

Allison
~ mommy to Declan 3.24.03

barbarhow
01-28-2004, 11:20 AM
When you say your current assignment is better for you r family/state of mind is that because of hours and work demands? If you hate what you are doing right now maybe it would be better for your state of mind to be mentally stimulated. Is is possible that it might balance out? That is the creative outlet would allow the daily work to be less of a struggle? Just some thoughts.
Barbara-mom to Jack 3/27/03

McQ
01-28-2004, 11:42 AM
When I say better for family it's a better commute, better hours, better boss, less demanding work schedules and I work with friends. The only thing I don't like about this assignment is that the work is boring and I just can't get jazzed up about it. I'd love the work on the other assignment but the rest could be awful. I'm hoping I can make it work but I think I'll always be fighting to go home at a reasonable hour and have piles upon piles of deadlines.

Allison
~ mommy to Declan 3.24.03

Dcclerk
01-28-2004, 01:26 PM