PDA

View Full Version : Toilet Training

cara1
02-16-2004, 01:44 PM
Am I *allowed* to post this here? :) I don't like going all the way to the Toddler Forum. My Mom is making me nuts. I nursed DS last night (24 mos), "You're not STILL doing that, are you?" "When are you gonna move him into a bed?" "When will you start toilet training? You were trained at 19 mos, and in a bed, too". I'm not sure what the rush is to have him grow up. But anyway, we got him all naked for his bath, and he stood in front of the tub and he peed all over the bath rug. "See, that means he's ready to start training." How's that? Peeing on a rug when he's not supposed to means he's ready? She implied that he was responding to external cues (water running, being naked). My son is minimally verbal, and only two, and a boy. I hadn't even planned on thinking of training til at LEAST 2 1/2. Am I crazy? Is she?

KMommie
02-16-2004, 02:28 PM
I'm not experienced, as DD is only 10 months old, but I thought I'd give you some support. It seems that your mom and others her generation remember that toilet training began at around 18 months. At least that's what MIL tells me. It drives her crazy that her 3 year old grandson is still running around in dipes. :P I have several friends, and they all waited until at least 30 months, more like 3 years old to start. So, you can at least tell your mom you have lots of company!

Jeannie
mommy to Kiki 4/18/03

brubeck
02-16-2004, 02:31 PM