PDA

View Full Version : when did you start signing...

jamsmu
03-22-2004, 11:30 PM
with your little one? A friend of mine recommended waiting until DS is one year, but I read to wait until DS is able to wave bye-bye. When did you start and what did you start with (what are the best things to sign?)

pritchettzoo
03-22-2004, 11:43 PM
I've been doing 4 signs for about 2 months now: milk, dog, mama, and daddy. She now does milk when she's hungry and dog (panting) when she sees the dogs (or cats actually, but we're not being picky!). It's really cool--started on her 6 month birthday. She started waving (copying, but not on command or anything) about a month ago, so at 5 mos.

Anna
Mama to Gracie (9/16/03)

egoldber
03-22-2004, 11:49 PM
You can start signing any time. I started when DD was about 7 months old. Many babies don't have the motor skills to actually sign back until closer to one year, but the more you sign to them, the earlier they will sign back.

It doesn't really matter what you sign, as long as you do it consistently. But many signing "programs" or classes start with things that are very concrete and meaningful for babies. The signs for eat, milk, and more are signs that are easy (from a motor perspective) and have a built in reward system. :)

And babies born to deaf parents who are signed to exclusively from birth often begin to "babble" in sign language as early as 3-4 months.

HTH,

stillplayswithbarbies
03-22-2004, 11:52 PM
we started at 6 months and she learned "milk" right away. Now at 12 months she does milk, please, more, want, and daddy. I used the Signing Time videos.

...Karen
Jacob Nathaniel Feb 91
Logan Elizabeth Mar 03

papal
03-23-2004, 12:18 AM
We just started on Leela's 5 month birthday. I show her the Signing Time video (first one) once a day after her first nap. And then i sign MILK, MOM, DAD, EAT and SLEEP. She really seems to like the video because she does not turn away from the tv!

papal
03-23-2004, 12:19 AM