PDA

View Full Version : My poor little bugaboo just got out of the hospital

barbarhow
04-03-2004, 05:11 PM
So we have been battling this stomach virus since Tuesday-trying to keep him hydrated amidst vomiting and diarrhea. Yesterday he stopped breastfeeding and taking the pedialyte. When I looked at him yesterday morning it was like his face was too small for his head. He looked so sad and so sick. Nothing I could do would make him feel better. I called the doctor and went in realizing that we would probably be sent to the ER for IV fluids. They admitted us. I was so stunned. As a former ER nurse I feel like I am always treading this fine line between over and underreacting. I try to be so careful about being a Mom first. He was so dehydrated that it took 12 hours of IV fluid before he peed. I was pretty freaked out last night. Had pretty horrible scenarios going through my mind. Finally at 2:30am he peed.
We are home now and he is napping. He is so much better-smiling and playful but not alot of energy reserves. Still with his heplock in so we can go back tomorrow for another dose of IV antibiotics for his ears. I just want him to be healthy again soon. He is so tiny to begin with-he lost half a pound-that's alot for a boy who only weighs 18 lbs to begin with.
So if anyone has any extra prayers or healthy wishes laying around please send them our way. Thanks.
Barbara-mom to Jack 3/27/03

slknight
04-03-2004, 05:21 PM
Oh, Barbara, the poor little guy! I feel so bad for you and Jack. You all have certainly been through the wringer this winter. A few weeks ago, Alex was having more ear problems and refused to nurse. They were threatening to send us to the ER, but we narrowly avoided it. I'm so sorry you had to go through that. Hope he's feeling better soon. Maybe once (if) spring ever decides to get here, we can all get togehter.

(((Hugs))),
Susan

COElizabeth
04-03-2004, 05:44 PM
Barbara,