PDA

View Full Version : How easily can you replace beef?

jojo2324
04-04-2004, 12:47 PM
I want to make a pot roast, and I have a bottom round roast. For some reason, it's really hard for me to find a recipe with that cut of meat for anything! Can I just use it in place of the chuck roast recipes are calling for? Actually, I really want to make roast beef - is that possible? I'm studying my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook, trying to figure out all the different cuts, but it's not sinking in! :)

trumansmom
04-04-2004, 03:54 PM
I'm terrible about this as well, which is really unfortunate since my FIL has a farm and we get all the free beef we want! Do you have "The Joy of Cooking"? It does a great job of describing the best ways to cook various cuts of beef. I use it as a resource ALL the time!

If you don't, let me know and I'll go downstairs and look it up. I'm feeling way too "waddly" to make the trip unnecessarily!

Jeanne
Mom to Truman 11/29/01 and EDD 4/23/04!

jojo2324
04-04-2004, 04:07 PM
Ah, thanks Jeanne! You stay put. :) Wow, free beef!! That's great!

I just ended up using it anyway. But I will look into the Joy of Cooking. I should have it anyway, isn't is an essential?

jojo2324
04-04-2004, 05:36 PM
Yeah, well it turned out gross and tasteless. Ugh. I can't stand it when I follow directions and the result is crap! x( Gannon sure isn't touching it, so he might be getting PB&J for dindin tonight. Poor kid.

caleymama
04-04-2004, 06:38 PM