PDA

View Full Version : eBay Question...Need Help!

jec2
04-05-2004, 01:55 PM
How do I estimate shipping costs?

I am an eBay newbie. I have a large item and somebody wants to know what shipping would be. How do I do this?

egoldber
04-05-2004, 02:04 PM
I would box it up, weight it, and then check with the various shippers to see what pricing would be. All of them have websites with shipping estimators.

HTH,

Chelsey333
04-05-2004, 02:07 PM
The best way is to pack it up and go to post office and find out how much shipping would be. I have sold quite a few things on ebay, and I am often too lazy to do it that way. But my dh sells a lot on ebay and that is what he does if he is unsure of the weight. Sometimes I estimate the weight and then go to FEdex or Post office web page and get a quote based on that. I have also looked up the item I am selling on ebay and see what other people have shipped it at for cost. I sometimes prefer that method bec it is the easiest for me.

jec2
04-05-2004, 02:25 PM
Thanks!

AngelaS
04-05-2004, 04:09 PM
Or look at what other similar items are selling for and what other sellers are charging for shipping.

sweetbasil
04-05-2004, 04:11 PM
I'd either package it up and take it to a shipping place for a weight, or look at what other similar items are selling for and what other sellers are charging for shipping.

Last year I auctioned a bunch of items for a charity event...I used online shipping calculators from USPS, UPS, and Fed-Ex, and really ended up losing a lot of money to incorrect shipping calculations. Someone at a shipping store recently told me that the online calculators are notoriously inaccurate. Nice, huh?

HTH, and good luck on your sales :)

stillplayswithbarbies
04-05-2004, 04:38 PM
don't forget that if it is a large item, the measurements affect the shipping too. You can't just go by weight, you have to know the height, width, length in a certain formula.