PDA

View Full Version : OT: lawn mowers

C99
04-12-2004, 04:50 PM
We have a postage-stamp size yard, so we've been using an old-fashioned push mower for the past 2 years. But my husband really wants a power mower and I'd like to get one for him. Help! I know nothing about power mowers. Which is better -- gas or electric? What are good brands of mowers? And how much should I expect to pay for a lawn mower? As I said, our yard is TINY, so we don't need anything too big/powerful. Just something that will satiate my husband's need for some power lawn tools. :) Suggestions?

jbowman
04-12-2004, 05:48 PM
Hi Caroline,

I am by no means an expert (LOL I don't mow the lawn!), but we bought a lawn mower last year. I would suggest a gas mower (although electric might be fine if your lawn is really small). I would take a look at Sears--often they have sales as well as a variety of models (smaller to more powerful). I think Sears/Craftsman is a good brand.

Also consider if you want a bag on the mower (that you empty) or a mulcher (blows grass out the side). The price will depend on features, but you should be able to get a decent mower under $200. HTH!

lisams
04-12-2004, 07:04 PM
We went with an electric (Black and Decker) for a few reasons, the biggest being - no need to keep gas on hand/stored or even mess with it, no pollution. We also have a small grass area, and it has been wonderful for the three years we have had it. It is actually much quieter than a gas mower. I think we spent about $200 on it (that was 3 years ago).

Lisa

jd11365
04-12-2004, 07:50 PM