PDA

View Full Version : OT - PROM!!

mharling
04-20-2004, 04:15 PM
My jaw dropped on Sunday when I read that the average money spent by a couple attending prom is $900!! Holy bolies!

So, I got to wondering what prom was like for all of us. Anyone care to share?

I will share when I'm back on the boards tonight.

Mary
Lane 4/6/03

McQ
04-20-2004, 04:22 PM
That's ridiculous!!!

No prom stories here. I was a day student at a boarding school and we didn't have prom. Nor did we have cheer leaders. I could be a John Hughes movie.

Allison
~ mommy to Declan 3.24.03
and number 2 EDD 9.14.04

papal
04-20-2004, 04:27 PM
$900!!!!! What does that include exactly??????? And who pays for it?? If Leela asks for $900 to go to the prom, i will have to get my beating stick out.

And i am with Allison, no prom here... went to school in India and *gasp* it was an ALL GIRLS school. Did not school with boys till I was 18.

mharling
04-20-2004, 04:31 PM
I don't have the article anymore, but I remember it mentioned that limo's are pretty standard (very few people got them when I was in hs). The flabbergasting part is that it also mentioned renting a condo or something of that nature for the night. And parents let their kids do this????

The part that did surprise me is that the dresses were not a HUGE part of that #. I think the average cost was around $150 (which I realize is still a lot of money, but I certainly didn't get the impression the super fancy-schmancy boutique-y dressy were the norm).

Granted, this was in the Chicago paper and may not speak for the rest of the country. But still!!!!

Mary
Lane 4/6/03

MelissaTC
04-20-2004, 04:43 PM