PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone have a time share and what are your thoughts on it?

JLiebCamm
05-05-2004, 11:49 PM
I've always had the impression that time shares were a bad idea, although I don't have any specific reasons for thinking such a thing. It seems as if in the past few months I've heard more and more people talking about loving their time shares and what great vacation destinations they've gone to through trades. I'm a complete novice about how all of this works but would like to know a bit more about it, good or bad.

goosey77
05-06-2004, 12:41 AM
I'm not an expert, but i do have a few thoughts.... DH and I bought a timeshre on our HM in Cabo and we took a HUGE hit when we sold a year later (we recouped $0) before even getting a chance to use it.
-wherever you buy a timeshare, make sure the home base is in a location where you will have easy enough access. For example, we live in Florida and we bought a timeshare in Cabo San Lucas. STUPID. It is outragously expensive for us to fly to Cabo from Florida. So in order for us to use the dang timeshare, we would have had to shell out big bucks just to get there. We could have swapped for locations closer to us, but then you still pay extra and it's not as easy as they make it seem.
- Annual has better resale. Ours was every even year (ie. 2004/2006/2008 etc.) and it was harder to resell.
- Eveyrone has always said go for the nicest place you can afford. Makes it easier to trade in for different locations.
- Do you vacation every year/every other year? It makes more sense for people who are big into vacationing.
- When you do vacation, are you always staying at nice places? Here's another area where we didn't think enough.... when we travel, I always scout out the best deals and go wherever it's the best value. We really don't care so much about how nice a place is, as long as it's not icky, b/c we rarely spend time in the room.
- Don't fall for high pressure sales!!!!