PDA

View Full Version : digital SLR cameras

calebsmama03
05-06-2004, 05:41 PM
DH and I are looking into digital cameras and want a nice but affordable one. We're looking at the Minolta Dimage 7i 5MP camera - I found it for just over $600. Any experience with this one? Any other suggestions?
Lynne
Mommy to Caleb 3/3/03

bjiang
05-06-2004, 05:47 PM
I have no experience with this camera, but you could find reviews on it at

http://www.dpreview.com/
http://www.steves-digicams.com/

-- Bo

mattysmom
05-06-2004, 06:14 PM
I just got the Nikon D70 which is a digital SLR (you can change the lenses). I LOVE IT!! It cost $1000 or $1300 if you want the "kit" (which comes with a GREAT lens). I love that I can go to the park and take 100 pictures of ds and not worry about if only one comes out well. And there's no shutter lag so it's as quick as a regular film SLR. Feel free to email me if you have questions about it. Also, check out www.nikonians.com and www.twopeasinabucket.com - the photography message board - there's a good thread about the camera, as well as other useful threads about online developers, etc.

Did I say that I LOVE the camera??

egoldber
05-06-2004, 09:54 PM
Do you already have a film SLR with large-ish collection of lenses? If so, I would get a digital SLR that allows you to use the lenses you already have. We got a Nikon D1 (used, three years ago), since we already had an extensive collection of Nikon lenses.

Make sure to check out the used market for ANY digital SLR you are interested in. They are generally readily available used and for good prices.

If you don't currently have a large-ish collection of lenses, then I would look at the types of lenses you would want to buy and get the digital SLR that will let you use those. Over time, the price of lenses always FAR FAR outweighs the price of a camera body.

HTH,

mattysmom
05-07-2004, 09:41 AM