PDA

View Full Version : Decorating basics

suribear
05-18-2004, 03:50 AM
Can anyone recommend a good book that can tell me about decorating basics? (choosing paint colors, room layout and ideas) I'm going for a Contemporary/Southwestern look.

I'm a complete idiot when it comes to this, so it has to be easy to understand :)

Kris

suribear
05-18-2004, 10:47 AM
bump

votre_ami03
05-18-2004, 11:06 AM
I really enjoy the Better Homes & Gardens book, but my style is more country/cottagey. Some of the books in my collection are, BHG's "New Decorating Book", Christopher Lowell's "7 Layers..." & BHG's Cottage book. You might look at Sunset magazine, a great mag for SW style living! In my area, Phoenix magazine is also great, maybe there is a resource in your local area?

Any particular questions? I am a wannabe designer. :)

Christy, mommy to Nolan 7/22/03

stillplayswithbarbies
05-18-2004, 12:00 PM
ooooh I have a question!

I want to redo my bedroom. I want something calm and relaxing and something that will make it feel like a safe haven in all the chaos. We did have a grey/black leopard thing going on in there and it's just too harsh. I took out the huge grey metal poster bedframe and now have just a waterbed with the drawers under it. (that really made a difference in the feel of the room) My dressers are sort of dark. The room is small, there is barely room to walk between the dressers and the king size bed. There is an attached bathroom with neutral colors.

What colors or schemes do you suggest? I'm thinking something with flowers, and DH is open to that.

...Karen
Jacob Nathaniel Feb 91
Logan Elizabeth Mar 03

suribear
05-18-2004, 12:38 PM
I have one for you! Our playroom is at the front of our house. It's the first thing you see, and no, I'm not changing the location until the kids are older LOL It works out really well for us. But I do wish it wasn't the first impression!