Melanie
07-13-2004, 11:09 AM
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/articles/A23590-2004Jun7.html

beckyr88
07-13-2004, 11:57 AM
Thanks for the link!

american_mama
07-13-2004, 06:47 PM
I'm curious what people think of this article, especially those who practice attachment parenting. Although I do not, I found the article to be quite negative and a little misleading. The author appears to insert his/her opinion throughout the article, and the article portrays attachment parenting as such a fringe thing even though I know parents in places as far flung as Minneapolis, Utah, Washington DC, and these boards who consider it quite a common choice.

Anyway... I am really not a proponent of attachment parenting, but I disliked this article.

Rachels
07-13-2004, 07:08 PM
It did make AP seem like kind of an odd, out-there thing to do, which I don't love. But at the same time, I'm glad to see it getting press, because I think so many people think they HAVE to put babies in cribs, let them CIO, have to wean at a year, etc. So I think it's great that there's info to say that, no, you really don't. But I agree, I wish it had been portrayed as a little less bizarre.

-Rachel
Mom to Abigail Rose
5/18/02

http://www.planetsmilies.com/smilies/character/2/character39.gif

"We have a secret in our culture...it's not that birth is painful, it's that women are strong!!" - Laura Stavoe Harm

Melanie
07-13-2004, 07:10 PM
ITA with Rachel. As long as they're not making it look abusive, press is good for getting the word out.

JMS
07-13-2004, 10:44 PM