PDA

View Full Version : Just curious-- do you work in a university setting?

octmom
07-28-2004, 09:08 PM
Maybe it's just that I notice the posts referencing universities, but it seems that there are a number of us who work in university settings. Am I crazy?

I work in university administration. What other areas of various universities are represented on this board?

ETA: DH works at the same university as me. He is the manager of a grant-funded center.

Jerilyn
DS, Sean 10/03

http://lilypie.com/baby1/041029/3/3/3/-5/.png

"Baby makes days shorter, nights longer, home happier, and love stronger."

janeybwild
07-28-2004, 09:18 PM
I hadn't noticed that...I work in a research lab and am finishing my PhD. It will be interesting to hear from others!

jec2
07-28-2004, 09:24 PM
Yes, I'm in "gradual" school. I am ABD and have a couple chapters of my dissertation sitting and collecting dust. I also work in a lab and TA. DH works at a research center on campus and will be starting graduate school in the fall (I'm "trying" to be supportive).

jbowman
07-28-2004, 09:43 PM
Jerilyn,

I was going to post the same question!

I am an art history (assistant) professor. My specialization is the Italian Renaissance (and even more specifically, Rome)!

And Juliet--I just finished my diss. two years ago (and I remember the agony)--the best feeling in the world until Ellie was born!

lmintzer
07-28-2004, 10:09 PM
Slightly OT, but I also did "gradual" school, lol. I began my clinical psych PhD program in 1994 and defended my dissertation while I was pregnant with DS#1. I STILL am not licensed, and here it is 3 1/2 years later. I took 20 months off with Jack and am now spreading my postdoctoral fellowship over 2 years so I can work half-time and be with the kids more. Actually, I should correct that and say that it's now a 2 year and 4 month-long post-doc since taking time off for Joshua after finishing year 1!