PDA

View Full Version : My first intiated thread - I quit my job...(a little long)

alexsmommy
08-15-2004, 10:00 AM
...and I'm a little freaked out. I am a psychologist and I've worked in a children's hospital since my intership six years ago. I love working with children, but I also have a passion for working with perinatal issues. My job did not allow for this, so I have dabbled in private practice for the past three years. I have been working with pregnancy, fertility, postpartum stress and loss, trauma, abuse, grief, coping with medical crisis and transition issues and I love it. My practice sort of exploded and I found that my days "off" (I worked three ten hour days as the hospital) were getting full. I was never home with Alex miserable about this. Several things happened at my job to make me realize it was time to move on. My hubby agreed that the stress wasn't worth it, although we may have to live in our car and rent out our house to make the mortgage for a while, he was supportive of me leaving. I am so completely relieved/happy and freaked out at the same time. For those of you who left "stable" jobs and went out on your own - any advice is welcome. I really do feel like I have a great set up - an awesome, supportive, generous mentor who also offered me an opportunity to form a consultation group with her and another psychologist to assist professionals and familes to work better understand each others needs. (Shameless promotion here - her book, "Parenting Your Premature Baby and Child: The Emotional Journey" was just released - my dissertation was based on interviews of parents quoted in the book.) I am feeling very anxious, but sooooooo happy to have more control of my schedule and to have more Mommy time. Again, any advice is welcome...
Alaina
Alex 2-4-03

octmom
08-15-2004, 10:27 AM
No advice here, but congratulations on taking the risk to do something you are passionate about and to have more time with your son!

Jerilyn
DS, Sean 10/03