PDA

View Full Version : Sherwin-Williams paint--yea or nay?

pritchettzoo
08-19-2004, 11:16 AM
I have a coupon for 1/3 off good on Saturday, and we need to paint the dining room (after we finish stripping the wallpaper, washing, spackling, sanding, dusting, and priming the walls that is). Just curious as to the quality of their paints and glazes (because a faux finish of some sort will be necessary to hide all the boo-boos).

Thanks!

Anna

llcoddington
08-19-2004, 11:18 AM
I've only used Home Depot's Behr paint and Sherwin Williams one-coat paint, so I have limited experience. But, I thought the Sherwin Williams paint was nice. Very thick- did not splatter at all.

Lana
mommy to Lauren 12/5/03

amp
08-19-2004, 11:36 AM
Our house was supposedly painted in SW paint, but when we tried to paint in the exact same color of SW, we hated it! I can't speak to all of their paint, but we were not happy. We did find that putting it on thicker than we thought was needed did help, but we found we had much better success with other paints. Before we put it on so thick, we found it to be splotchy and left bubbles and stuff. Once we put it on thicker, it worked better. The stuff we had was to match what we already had, so it was a flat paint, which shows marks a lot! But that is typical of flat paint, so I don't know if that's SW in particular or not.

That's not to say I wouldn't try SW again, especially with a coupon for a significant amount off, but just thought I'd share our problem.

Marisa6826
08-19-2004, 11:45 AM
The top two are SW and Benjamin Moore. I think SW might be a bit more spendy.

Eldon uses exclusively BM (better colours?), FWIW....

-m

ddmarsh
08-19-2004, 11:55 AM
We've used a couple of BM colors and have been happy with them. However in the latest Consumer Reports the one rated the best in two of three categories was the Behr by Home Depot. If you want any more info in the review and/or want me to fax it to you LMK.

LD92599
08-19-2004, 12:08 PM
Anna: