PDA

View Full Version : Home vs Center Dare Care for toddler (long)

dogmom
10-18-2004, 02:48 PM
I've been fortunate that as a nurse I have not had to use daycare for my DS. I work every other weekend and one night. I like work, I carry the benefits, and we can use the money, so I want to continue working. Since DS is getting older (21 months) and likes spending time with kids I thought putting him in daycare a couple of days of week would expose him to more kids, a fun environment, give me more scheduling options, and NOT have me staying up after working all night. Also, I would like to get off this every other weekend thing and see my husband more. I just looked at a home daycare and a center day care today and I'm really torn.

Home:
Pros: It's much less expensive, both by hour and by the fact I only have to pay for the hours I use. Flexable, so I could pick the days I want and schedule and extra day if I want. No minium hours. So if only have him in until 2pm or so for me to sleep, I'm not paying for a full day. Also, it's a much smaller pool of kids to expose him to germs and they only do under 3. Would feed him breakfast, something my husband would definately like for the morning drop off. They have a dog, he loves dogs.

Cons: Small house, only two providors. They have other of their family members that might visit during the day that are not providors. Not as much toys, planned activities, curriculum. Generally I feel like there are less parents going in and out to keep an eye on things. House seemed cluttered more than messy, since it is small.

Daycare Center: