PDA

View Full Version : Sewing Machine Help

himom
11-23-2004, 05:48 PM
I'm considering asking DH for this for Christmas. I can't sew a stitch, but I would like to make simple things for DS and perhaps eventually move on to things a little more complicated. So I'm basically looking for an inexpensive, easy to use, long lasting machine. We're on a really tight budget, so I can't really go for anything high end.

All you sewing experts out there....what do you think of this one?

http://tinyurl.com/6bdrt

TIA!

Jodi

jec2
11-23-2004, 06:48 PM
I am far from a sewing expert but have been on the front lines the last 2 days working on a project. Today when I was at the quilting store working on my project one of the women who works there and I were talking about sewing machines and how I wanted to take a class etc. She recommended that I get a really really good USED one. She said that you can get really great used ones (like Bernina or whatever all the good brands are) for a good price at Sewing Machine stores.

Among some of the things she said to look for are...oh geez, now I don't recall all the terms so please forgive me but if I recall correctly she said,

a foot driver and walking foot
drop-in bobbin

there were a few other things she listed but I can't recall what they were.

MariFP
11-23-2004, 11:15 PM
I am a big Singer fan. It is the only brand we have had in my family and I am getting a new one for my birthday next week. I just don't know which model, it is a surprise. But I would do some research... You can find better machines for a better price than this Brother.

californiagirl
11-23-2004, 11:18 PM
Up to a certain point, sewing machines are a real "you get what you pay for"
deal. My Viking seemed awfully expensive -- 20 years ago. It's still going strong,
although I just added a serger. I second the other poster's suggestion; if you can't afford a good new machine, go used, from a local dealer who you have some reason to trust.

egoldber