PDA

View Full Version : OT: Christmas cookie recipes needed

janeybwild
11-29-2004, 05:08 PM
I saw Sharon's (sbirmantaz) previous post on Christmas cookies, but am hoping there are more out there. I am a cookie novice/baking idiot/kitchen moron. We just moved to a new neighborhood which does a Christmas cookie exchange. I'd like to participate, and will need 3 dozen cookies. I would buy them but this would seem to violate the spirit of the activity! I'm thinking 2 different kinds? I need easy, idiot proof, cute looking cookie recipes that can be made a day ahead, and will keep for a few days without losing their pizzazz. Help! I wish I could start us off by sharing, but you just read about my level of skill in the baking department. Isn’t it fun to get festive? :)

mharling
11-29-2004, 08:44 PM
Here are two of my favorites. They are both extremely easy (no oven required!) and you can even freeze them.

PEANUT CLUSTERS
2 8 oz. Hershey bars
1 lb. almond bark
Small chunk of paraffin
18 oz. unsalted peanuts

Melt first 3 ingredients in a double boiler (you can borrow mine if you don't have one). Stir in peanuts. Drop by the spoonful onto waxed paper and let harden.

CAPTAIN CRUNCH COOKIES
2 lb. almond bark
3 c. Rice Krispies
3 c. Peanut Butter Captain Crunch
3 c. mini marshmallows
3 c. unsalted peanuts

Melt almond bark (can be done in the microwave) and stir in rest of ingredients. Drop by the spoonful onto waxed paper and let harden.

These wouldn't qualify as cookies, but you could also do snack size bags of Party Mix or Puppy Chow (Chex cereal with a yummy coating). Let me know if you'd like recipes.

Mary
Lane - April 2003
Little sister on the way!!! March 2!

kelly ann
12-02-2004, 08:10 PM
Mary-

I have a silly question...

What is almond bark? Where do I find it?

mharling
12-02-2004, 10:14 PM