PDA

View Full Version : OT: Help me choose wall paint colors!! Please!!

eb1
12-13-2004, 10:33 AM
I'm stuck and I know there are a bunch of you on this board with excellent taste for colors and decorating...I can't figure out what colors to use in the main living area of our house.

We have an open floor plan so when you walk in the front door, you see our entire house except for the bedrooms and bathroom. The living room is separated from a galley-style kitchen by an island. (Basically, the living room runs along one wall and the kitchen runs along the parallel wall, with the island running parallel in between.) Our dining area extends off the kitchen in a bay-window shape room visible from everywhere else.

The living room has a beige carpet, and everywhere else the floor is a medium brown tile. The kitchen cabinets and counters are also medium brown. (Whoo-hoo, lively!) I'm attaching an image, which I hope shows up as I've never tried this before. The top samples are our kitchen counters and cabinets, and the bottom are the carpet and floor tile.

I'm stuck because of the extreme visibility of every nook and cranny of this space. The kitchen/dining and living room colors have to work together, right down to the cabinets and countertops. I'd like some color to breathe life into our otherwise neutral color scheme of the "fixed" structural details, but I think a single color on all the walls would be tiring. I've considered doing the wall along the kitchen/dining side of the house sort of a terracotta, which would go along with the browns, but then what do I paint the living room side? (And would painting the kitchen island a complementary accent color work as well or instead, to give a little "pop" or would that be too distracting and a weird focal point?)