PDA

View Full Version : Universities with strong English depts.

MommytoDylan
12-21-2004, 11:57 PM
One of my former 3rd grade students, now in High School, emailed me today. She has decided she wants to be a writer, (spelled it writter in the email:) and asked for recommendations on good colleges. I have no idea! Anyone out there with any idea?

Thanks in advance!

Meredith

psophia17
12-22-2004, 12:03 AM
Vassar University in Poughkeepsie, NY, has a great English Dept. I didn't go there, but I was very interested because of their English program (but I was Lit, not Writing). My alma mater is St. Lawrence University, in Canton, NY, which has a really good program, too - it was the only part of my SLU experience that I really loved. They also have an amazing London Program - I studied in London for four months my jr. year. The London Program was the reason I decided that I wanted to go there.

I'm curious - are you going to warn her to proofread when you respond?

quikeye
12-22-2004, 01:23 AM
UC Berkeley... but I'm biased since it was my major there :) It actually was a top rated program then ('99), but I don't know now. I loved it there though :)

jk3
12-22-2004, 07:33 AM
If she can stand the cold, I highly recommend Middlebury College in Vermont. They have a fabulous department + also a summer school at the Bread Loaf campus.

Jenn
DS 6/03

http://lilypie.com/baby2/030603/2/5/1/-5/.png

Tondi G
12-22-2004, 02:27 PM
I was going to suggest Vassar as well. I have a close friend that I grew up with that graduated from Vassar, English was her Major and she is writing for a living now!!!!

Good luck to your student!

~Tondi

C99
12-22-2004, 05:18 PM
Well, at least she doesn't want to be an editor. ;-) I am sure that there are more, but here are a few universities that I can think of with strong English departments:

- Stanford University. I have a friend who became a terminal M.A. student when she dropped out in grad school. Many of her friends are now professors.