PDA

View Full Version : Anyone use an online service for a Will?

KrisM
06-21-2005, 01:26 PM
We should have had a will 2 years ago when DS was conceived. But, we're bad, bad, bad and still don't have one. I want to get it done NOW! So, has anyone used an online program or fill-in-the blank form for a will?

I found this site: http://www.legacywriter.com/Home.html. I don't know much about it though.

Or, should we just find a lawyer to do it?

MarisaSF
06-21-2005, 01:30 PM
We're bad bad bad here too! Haven't done it yet, but DH just bought WillMaker Plus by Quicken. His friend said it was easy to use. We'll likely do one with a lawyer at some point, but just want to get something on paper now.
http://www.nolo.com/product.cfm/ObjectID/6E9ED903-C9B4-42E0-9C2E235DD87A0A8A/309/

Looks like you can download it for $40.

aliceinwonderland
06-21-2005, 01:31 PM
I'm a freaking law student and we do not have one!! And DH and I carpool together every-morning (well, during the school year), so I know statistically the odds of us dying at the same time are higher that usual.

I've had many false starts: first, BIL was going to do one, but he lives in Indiana and honestly I don't trust his lawyering skills, so that fell through. I know findlaw.com has some free software ones; I need to go go a fake will soon. Pretty much everyone int he family knows in no uncertain terms what is to happen to Erik, and we have no real assets except for a house we bought a year ago, and insurance policies so we don't have too many worries in that regard ;)
e.

HannaAddict
06-21-2005, 01:55 PM