PDA

View Full Version : OT -- Mexican potluck recipie

kath68
06-25-2005, 12:03 PM
I am going to a pot luck, co-ed baby shower, and I am supposed to bring something Mexican.

I am a good cook (if I say so my self), but don't have any Mexican cookbooks lying around. There is a good Mexican restaurant down the street, so why bother cooking?

Anyone have a recipie for something appropriate for a Mexican pot luck?

Quick and easy would be nice...But I imagine other people will bring chips&dip, etc.

TIA!

psophia17
06-25-2005, 12:23 PM
I haven't done this myself, but I believe you can throw some meat (beef, chicken, pork, etc.) into a crock pot with a jar of salsa of your choosing and leave it for a while, and it makes something yummy...provide some tortillas or taco shells, too, and you're good to go.

My other suggestion is guac - so easy, but no one makes it.

Take 8 avocados (hass is my fave) and dice them into a bowl. Mash a little with a fork, but don't mash out all the chunks. Squeeze in 1/2 a lime, add two dinner spoonfuls of salsa (fresh is best, usually you can find this near the salad bags and tofu stuff in the produce department), but jarred is okay, too, and add salt to taste (usually at least 1/2 a tsp, but you can just keep tasting). Stir well, but not too much or the avocado chunks that are left will mush. Press plastic wrap to the top of the guac to keep it from turning brown, and stir before serving. Serve with chips...YUM :)

sntm
06-25-2005, 12:29 PM
I was going to say guacamole, too. My recipe is different (aren't they all?)

2 avocados, fork-mashed (I use a potato masher) until smooth
1-2 cloves fresh minced or pressed garlic
about 1/4 - 1/2 tsp sea salt
lime juice (I use the Key Lime juice from a jar) to taste
about 1 tbls minced cilantro

About half the time, I add a small chopped tomato (after letting it drain a little) and I sometimes add a dollop of yogurt or sour cream to make it even smoother.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
shannon