PDA

View Full Version : Do I have any recourse?

Mommy_Again
06-27-2005, 08:52 AM
On April 30, I took my wedding band into the jeweler we purchased it from to repair a loose stone. They kept it for about a week and a half and when I received it back everything looked great.

Yesterday I noticed the stone was gone. I have no idea where it fell out so I doubt I will ever find it. My rings are not currently insured.

So I've been wearing the band for 3 1/2 years, get it repaired, and two months later the stone falls out. Should the jeweler be responsible?

I am calling them later today but I just wanted to see if anyone has experienced anything like this before (and I know a few people have worked at jewelry stores before).

DebbieJ
06-27-2005, 10:15 AM
My jeweler has a program that as long as I take my ring in for quarterly inspections and cleanings, they will replace it if a stone ever falls out.

I would bring it up with the jeweler and ask it they have such a program. You never know!

~ deb
DS 12/03
And a niece or nephew arriving in early August!

http://www.windsorpeak.com/dc/user_files/10029.gif

BillK
06-27-2005, 10:21 AM
Have you verified with your homeowners or renters insurance agent that it's not covered yet?

As an insurance agency owner - some of my companies automatically include a specific internal limit for jewelry - and some even include coverage for "mysterious disappearence". It may be worth looking into.

bostonsmama
06-27-2005, 10:25 AM