PDA

View Full Version : Beginning signing question...

sarahsthreads
06-30-2005, 09:54 AM
How long had you been signing with your DC and how old were they when they signed back?

I ask because I've been signing "milk" and "more" with Carrie for a couple of months now, and I totally didn't expect her to start signing back for at least another couple months, but last night and this morning I think she signed "milk". At least, she squeezed her fist twice and when I asked her if she wanted milk (and signed it) she made the sign again, spit out her binky and dove for my chest.

Is this just a fluke, or could she really be signing?

I'm just so excited - I ordered the first three volumes of Signing Time last night because we'd gotten the first one out of the library and it's like baby crack: Carrie gets all excited about the kids on the video and moves her hands around like she's trying to make the signs, and cries when it's over. (I'm just waiting for the day she signs "more" when it ends!) Unfortunately, it's popular enough that there's always a hold on it and I couldn't renew it, so we decided to splurge on our own copies.

Is there anything more I could/should be doing to encourage her, or do I just keep signing "more" and "milk" and maybe add in another sign or two? What signs should I try next?

Thanks!
Sarah :)

Wife_and_mommy
06-30-2005, 10:05 AM
If you do a search you'll find some threads about signing. It is OH SO exciting, is it not? :) I'm sure she's definitely signing milk for you.

My dd learned milk really fast, did it a couple weeks, then stopped and never did it again. She was 8/9 months old. I started really signing at 9 months and it took until she was 13 months for her to catch on and sign. Her sign vocab now is about 10 words and I'm trying to learn some more to teach her. I've never seen the ST videos. Might have to check those out.