PDA

View Full Version : Would you try to sell your home in 5 days?

AngelaS
07-05-2005, 07:02 AM
Has anyone used the "How to sell your home in 5 days" book method of selling your house? Would you try it? Would you consider buying a house thru that method?

I'm considering things since our house in Iowa's been on the market since mid February and we've had NO offers on it! I'm tired of paying on it, 'vacant dwelling' insurance is going to cost us a fortune and frankly, I'm just tired of WAITING!

I tried to sell it FSBO for about 6 weeks and it's been listed w/a realtor since. It's been shown a LOT and has had open houses but so far, no takers! We have a lawyer to help us out too.

Anyone have any thoughs?

emilyf
07-05-2005, 11:46 AM
I haven't heard of the book you mention, but I am a real estate agent. I know the market is very different in different parts of the country-things that would sell in a second in a city on the coast might take longer in other markets. Has your real estate agent offered up any possible reasons it hasn't sold? To be honest, if one of my listings is getting a lot of showings but no offers the reason is almost always price assuming it shows well and is in a desirable location. I know selling a house is stressful and have been in the situation of paying for 2 houses at once-not fun! Good luck-
Emily \r\nmom of Charlie born 11/02

Momof3Labs
07-05-2005, 01:08 PM
Angela, what kind of feedback is your agent getting? She/he should be calling the agents who have shown your house and getting feedback from them. Is it in an area that tends to move slowly (how are other houses in the area doing)? Is it staged well (see the shows on satellite - Sell This House, and others)?

I've never heard of the method, so sorry I can't help with those specifics!

heidi_timms
07-05-2005, 02:00 PM