PDA

View Full Version : pregnancy and sinus pressure/congestion?

pb&j
07-20-2005, 08:40 AM
So my first pg, I felt great all the time. This one has been totally different. It seems every week I have a fun new and obscure pregnancy symptom. This week, it's sinus pressure and congestion. Ouch! I wake up very stuffy in the mornings with a headache, and it never really goes away during the day. My mom had this when she was pregnant with my sister, and ended up getting addicted to Afrin. Does anyone have any good, drug-free sinus congestion remedies? And no, I can't sit in my office all day bent over a bowl of steaming water. ;)

-Paige,
mom to Emma, s/b 11/04/04
and Max, edd 01/15/06 - it's a BOY!

http://lilypie.com/days/060115/3/25/1/-5/.png[/img] ([img)

momma_boo
07-20-2005, 08:50 AM
I'm sorry. I had it for a few weeks w/ #1, but I think I had it for a few months w/ #2. I would take an occasional sudafed, but I don't think it helped all that much. Sad to say, but I had it for so long that after a while I just got used to being congested all the time.

I hope you find some relief!

kellyotn
07-20-2005, 09:08 AM
Breathe Right Strips. They are the most brilliant thing.

I had the worst congenstion with my first. I'd wake up completely unable to breathe through my nose. My throat was drier than sandpaper and HURT. Breathe Right Strips helped immensely. I would have been miserable without them.

They actually did help for daytime too. I guess they helped drain the sinuses so I just in general wasn't as congested?? I don't know, but they helped. :-)

lilycat88
07-20-2005, 09:11 AM
Congestion was my very first pregnancy symptom and it didn't go away until Susanna was born. Then, it was gone in about 2 days. It sucked!